Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Five JCC Students Receive $1,250 in Follett Textbook Scholarships

Five students at Jefferson Community College (JCC) have received $1,250 in textbook scholarships from Follett Higher Education Group as part of the All-USA Community College Academic Team program, which is present by USA TODAY and Phi Theta Kappa and sponsored by Follett.

Five Follett Textbook Scholarships of $250 each were presented to JCC students Brittany E. Tanner of Copenhagen, Lillian M. McCauley of Watertown, Song H. Choi of Evans Mills, SaRena A. Eves of Evans Mills, Annette C. Pedrogo of Fort Drum.

These scholarship awards are presented in recognition of the opportunities for excellence at Jefferson as demonstrated by the selection of Belinda G. Jones, Fort Drum, as a member of the 2013 All-USA Community College Academic Team. Jones was one of only 20 students selected from a pool of 1800 nominations to earn this prestigious designation. She graduated from Jefferson in May 2013 with an associate of arts degree in liberal arts-humanities and social sciences. 

Follett awards a total of $100,000 in scholarships through the All-USA Community College Academic program which includes $25,000 in textbook scholarships to the colleges which nominate the winning members.

Follett currently serves students at more than 980 bookstores across the country and has partnered with more community colleges than any other bookstore operator in the country. The company implements programs to help drive down the costs of education, including Rent-A-Text and its newest online channel,

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapter on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.