Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Fort Drum Regional Health Planning Organization to be awarded Jefferson Citation

The Jefferson Community College Board of Trustees and college president Carole A. McCoy have named the Fort Drum Regional Health Planning Organization (FDRHPO) as recipient of the 2014 Jefferson Citation.  Denise K. Young, executive director of the FDRHPO, will accept the Jefferson Citation on behalf of the organization at the College’s fiftieth commencement exercises on May 16, 2014.

The Jefferson Citation was established by the Jefferson Community College Board of Trustees to “recognize an individual or organization whose leadership and actions have demonstrated outstanding commitment to education and the vision and mission of Jefferson Community College.”   

The FDRHPO was established in 2006 with a goal of first analyzing and then strengthening the North Country healthcare system for Fort Drum Soldiers, their families and the surrounding civilian community. Toward that end, the FDRHPO has enhanced available healthcare resources for the Fort Drum community through collaboration and partnerships with regional healthcare and community organizations and educational institutions including Jefferson Community College. 

The FDRHPO encourages North Country students to aspire to healthcare careers and supports initiatives that bring additional or enhanced healthcare training to the region to meet current and future healthcare workforce needs.  Throughcollaboration with the FDRHPO, Jefferson Community College attained a Community-Based Job Training Grant through the U.S. Department of Labor in 2009 which provided funding to create a part-time night and weekend option for the College’s associate in applied science (A.A.S.) nursing degree.  The weekend nursing option built the capacity to graduate additional registered nurses and to allow more working adults to enter the healthcare field.  The grant also served to enrich the existing labor pool by establishing a scholarship and local pathway to a master’s of science degree in nursing and  provided support for the Jefferson Higher Education Center to build infrastructure and capacity for Bachelor and Master’s level healthcare workforce education programs.  Most recently, the FDRHPO spearheaded efforts to obtain Healthcare Information Technology (HIT) grants and, with Jefferson as its partner, is working to recruit, educate and retain certified Health IT specialists in our region.

“The Fort Drum Regional Health Planning Organization is widely recognized throughout the North Country region for their leadership of efforts to build a healthier community through the education and expansion of our healthcare workforce,” said Michael W. Crowley, chair of the JCC Board of Trustees.  “The FDRHPO’s commitment to our community and to the College as a partner and provider of educational opportunities truly embodies the spirit of the Jefferson Citation.”

Previous distinguished recipients of the Jefferson Citation include John B. Johnson in 2000, Donald J. “Dutch” Grant in 2001, James W. Wright in 2002, the Car-Freshner Corporation in 2003, T. Urling and Mabel B. Walker in 2005, Aline C.J. Taylor in 2006, John W. Deans in 2007, Warren G. Fargo in 2009, Sylvia S. Heap in 2010, the College’s Founding Board of Trustees in 2011, and Stephen H. Can in 2013.