Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Class of 2014 Nursing Graduates Honored at Pinning Ceremony

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Pinning Ceremony for graduates of the College’s nursing program on May 15, 2014 in the College’s Sturtz Theater. Twenty candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge.

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

The Debra R. Marsala Excellence in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates dedication, excellence and passion for the profession of nursing, was awarded to Mandy E. Kray, Evans Mills.

The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award, established to honor a senior nursing student who exemplifies excellence in caring and providing service to the sick, was awarded to Rachael A. Kaban, Lowville. 

Ailice N.S. Gundayao, Watertown, was the recipient of the Marion Brennon Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who perseveres in the nursing program while overcoming many personal challenges along the way.

The North Country Professional Nurses Association District 6 Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates commitment to the nursing profession and leadership in a professional organization, was awarded to Timothy J. Lehman, Watertown.

Kristin P. Michalewicz, Calcium, was the recipient of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The STAR Award in Memory of Dr. Walter S. Atkinson, bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated clinical and academic excellence and has consistently performed at the highest level, was awarded to Lori A. Guerriero, Dexter.  

Seven nursing students recognized for being inducted into JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the official international honor society for community colleges, are Amanda L. DeFoe, Adams; Laura D.DeNardo, Watertown; Lori A. Guerriero, Dexter; Sherri-Jo Harris, Antwerp; Rachael A. Kaban, Lowville; Mandy E. Kray, Evans Mills; and Timothy J. Lehman, Watertown.

Nurses Pinning May 2014Nurses Pinning May 2014













First row (l-r): Rachael A. Kaban, Lowville; Ailice N.S. Gundayao, Watertown; Kristin P. Michalewicz, Calcium; Jessica M. Steele, Adams; Mandy L. Cervantez, Depauville; Amanda L. DeFoe, Adams; Laura D. DeNardo, Watertown

Second row (l-r): Timothy J. Lehman, Watertown; Joyce E. James, Carthage; Kristie R. Ames, Watertown; Ashley D.M. Banaszak, Fort Drum; Heather DaSilva, Dexter; Courtney M. Gould, Cape Vincent; Danielle S. Fuller, Williamstown; Marc D. Beck, Watertown

Back row (l-r): Sherri-Jo Harris, Antwerp; Allison L. McNulty, Watertown; Mandy E. Kray, Evans Mills; Lori A. Guerriero, Dexter; Brianne M. Gonseth, Watertown