Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

JCC Students Named to the Phi Theta Kappa All–New York Academic Team

Jefferson Community College (JCC) is pleased to announce that Michael D. Fager, East Syracuse, and Chelsea R. Monroe, Watertown, have been named to the All-New York Academic Team for Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for community colleges.  To be chosen for the All-New York Academic Team, students must have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.25 and have a history of scholarly achievement and outstanding service to the College campus or community.

Michael Fager, a dual major at JCC, is earning his associate of science degree in mathematics and science and an associate of arts degree in liberal arts - humanities and social sciences. With his 3.6 GPA, Michael has earned both President’s and Dean’s List honors while at Jefferson. He plans to transfer to SUNY Binghamton this fall to pursue degrees in biology and psychology. Michael believes that being bilingual is important, pues, está tomando clases de español (English translation: “so, I’m taking Spanish classes”).

Fager, a 2007 graduate of East Syracuse Minoa High School, is one of fifteen students who participated in JCC’s Honors Program which provides an individualized and enriched learning opportunity for academically motivated students. For one of his honors options, he developed an overview of congenital heart conditions with an emphasis on Tetralogy of Fallot. Michael is active in JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society where he held offices as president and treasurer. Under his leadership as president, Tau Xi Chapter raised money for the Make a Wish Foundation and received international recognition in PTK’s Five Star Chapter Development Plan at the one star level. To receive this honor, Tau Xi Chapter developed strategies to increase membership, promote membership acceptance and increase PTK awareness on campus.

Chelsea Monroe will graduate from Jefferson with an associate of arts degree in liberal arts – humanities and social sciences.  She is a student athlete, Honors Program participant and member of the Tau Xi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Chelsea is a 2010 graduate of General Brown High School where she took two Jefferson EDGE college courses as a high school senior, therefore beginning her Jefferson studies in the fall with six college credits in hand.  She plays infield for the Lady Cannoneers softball team and is an exemplary scholar athlete who has maintained a 4.0 GPA and earned President’s List honors each semester she has completed at Jefferson. On the field, Chelsea was recognized twice this semester by the National Junior College Athletic Association as Region III Athlete of the Week. Off the field, Chelsea supported her fellow athletes as announcer for both men’s and women’s home basketball games. 

Chelsea was honored as the 2012 Outstanding Liberal Arts Student at JCC and was awarded a Frontier League Scholarship in recognition of her athletic and academic accomplishments at Jefferson. Additionally, Chelsea was chosen to represent the Class of 2012 as Jefferson’s student commencement speaker. She plans to transfer to Utica College where will play intercollegiate softball and major in communication arts. 

Mr. Fager and Ms. Monroe were among 64 students from across all SUNY and CUNY (City University of New York) community college campuses honored April 4 at the annual All-New York Phi Theta Kappa Awards Ceremony at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center in Albany.  

“The students we honor today have taken full advantage of the academic and extracurricular programs that SUNY provides both in the classroom and in the community,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. “These proven leaders, athletes, artists, and civic volunteers truly represent the power of SUNY. I congratulate all of the students being recognized today and thank them for the positive impact each has had on New York State, our university system, and the communities we serve.”

The Phi Theta Kappa ceremony is jointly sponsored by the New York Community College Trustees, New York Community College Association of Presidents and the Faculty Council of Community Colleges.