Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Graduates of JCC's Nursing Program Pinned

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Pinning Ceremony for graduates of the College’s nursing program on May 19, 2011 in the College’s Sturtz Theater.  Thirty-two candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge.

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

The Debra R. Marsala Excellence in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates dedication, excellence and passion for the profession of nursing, was awarded to Cherish J. Beattie, Rodman, and Tracy L. Tripp, Watertown.

The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award, established to honor a senior nursing student who exemplifies excellence in caring and providing service to the sick, was awarded to Desiree S. Fuller, Watertown.

Remi Y. Love, Evans Mills, was the recipient of the Marion Brennan Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who perseveres in the nursing program while overcoming many personal challenges along the way.

The New York State Nurses Association District No. 6 Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates commitment to the nursing profession and leadership in a professional organization, was awarded to Abigail M. Larkin, Adams Center, and Lindsey M. Davis, Watertown.

Yudelkis Perez, Watertown, was the recipient of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The STAR Award in Memory of Dr. Walter S. Atkinson, bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated clinical and academic excellence and has consistently performed at the highest level, was awarded to Jennifer H. Brooks, Watertown.

Jordan E. Garry, Watertown, was recognized for being inducted into JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the official international honor society for community colleges.

Video of the ceremony will be available on DVD beginning June 6 in the JCC Bookstore for $10.

Class of 2011 Nurses


First row (l-r): Jenelle C. Vargulick, Lowville; Jordan E. Garry, Watertown; Joanna C. Nickel, Copenhagen; Tracy L. Tripp, Watertown; Cherish J. Beattie, Rodman; Laura J. Fay, Watertown; Jennifer E. Hadlock, Redwood; Amanda N. Zajchowski, Palm Harbor, Florida; Jennifer H. Brooks, Watertown; Jessica Soo Eiss, Watertown; and Abigail M. Larkin, Adams Center.

Middle Row (l-r): Kimberly J. Spurling, Mexico; Desiree S. Fuller, Watertown; Meredith M. Potter, Pulaski; Patricia M. Stokes, Fort Drum; Sara E. Reinhardt, Dexter; Christina M. Stoddard, Watertown; Yudelkis Perez, Watertown;  Pamela J. Termin, Theresa; Jennifer L. Alden, Watertown; Laura R. Brenon, Brownville; Rhea A. Juliani Horner, Alexandria Bay; and Remi Y. Love, Evans Mills.

Back Row (l-r): Denise L. Mueller, Redwood; Hallie B. Simpson, Sackets Harbor; Adam R. Fountain, Watertown; Barry A. Eyestone, Dexter; Julia A. Lees, Watertown; Barry Jason Straigis, Bridgeton, New Jersey; Matthew J. Dowker, Adams; Lindsey M. Davis, Watertown; and Wendy Lee Casler, LaFargeville.