Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

JCC Students & Faculty Honored at Awards Ceremony

Jefferson Community College (JCC) honored students and faculty at the College’s annual Awards Ceremony, themed Our Stars Shine Bright, held on Thursday, April 29, 2010. Students were honored for overall excellence and faculty members were recognized in specific categories. The outstanding club of the year award was bestowed to the JCC WAVE (Watertown’s Association for Video Entertainment) Gaming Club, a group of students interested in participating in a variety of games as mental exercise and stress busters. Honorees include:

Business Division Awards

  • Outstanding Hospitality and Tourism Student: Jordan Sanford, Alexandria Bay
  • Outstanding Office Technologies Student: Lisa J. Conley, Watertown
  • Wall Street Journal Award: Katherine R. Birth, Black River
  • West Publishing Outstanding Paralegal Students: Susan M. Bourn, Dexter and Danielle L. Cummings, Watertown
  • Outstanding Accounting Students: Katherine R. Birth, Black River and Amber G. Kiblin, Watertown
  • Student of Promise in Business: Valerie A. Towles, Watertown
  • Outstanding Business Student: Marina Cole, Watertown

Liberal Arts Division Awards

  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Students: Merisa L. Frezzo, Sackets Harbor and Kevin F. Trimper, Watertown
  • Outstanding Early Childhood Students: Petra Harris, Philadelphia and Lauren M. Sams, Watertown
  • Outstanding Human Services Students: Suzann J. Cornell, Chaumont and April J. Murphy, Lowville
  • Outstanding Liberal Arts Student: Alyena C. Crimmins, Carthage
  • David R. Reid Outstanding English Student: Meghan M. Harney, Lowville
  • Looseleaf Law Certificate of Recognition: Stephen D. Gorri, Watertown
  • Outstanding Fire Protection Student: Joseph A. Austin, Lowville
  • Students of Promise in Liberal Arts: McKenzie D. Michalski, Pulaski and Jenny B. LaBarge, Watertown

Math/Science Division Awards

  • Outstanding Animal Management Student: Katrinna A. Lee, Watertown
  • Outstanding Science Students: Kelly I. Bouchard, Pulaski and Christopher M. Roberts, Lowville
  • Outstanding Engineering Student: Asma Arshad, Watertown
  • Outstanding Mathematics Student: Amanda S. Hunkins, Castorland
  • Outstanding Paramedic Student: Jeanette Josinsky, North Bangor
  • Outstanding Computer Information Technology Students: Cody J. Stevens, Mannsville and Christopher G. DiStefano, Watertown

Campus-Wide Awards

  • Outstanding First Year Student in Enrollment Management & Student Life: Jamee L. Phillips, Adams Center
  • Outstanding Graduating Student in Enrollment Management & Student Life: Suzann J. Cornell, Chaumont
  • Thomas W. Myers Award for Co-curricular Service: Laurie E. Smith, JCC Fitness Center Director
  • Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Member of the Year: Timothy M. LaGoy, history instructor at JCC
  • Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Member of the Year: Martha P. Papworth, adjunct instructor at JCC
  • Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year: Andrea C. Pedrick, JCC Student Newspaper Club Advisor
  • Outstanding Student Government Assembly Members of the Year: James E. Hall, II, Copenhagen
  • Outstanding Club of the Year: WAVE (Watertown's Association for Video Entertainment) Gaming Club
  • Faculty Association Outstanding Student: Katherine R. Birth, Black River