SUNY Awards of Excellence
SUNY Jefferson
Schedule an Admissions Appointment

SUNY Awards

Distinguished Faculty Rank

SUNY Distinguished Faculty Rank programs encourage ongoing commitment to excellence, kindle intellectual vibrancy, elevate the standards of instruction and enrich contributions to public service. They demonstrate the State University’s pride and gratitude for the consummate professionalism, the groundbreaking scholarship, the exceptional instruction and the breadth and significance of service contributions of its faculty. The designation elevates a faculty member to the State University’s highest academic rank, and it is conferred solely by the State University Board of Trustees.

Joanna B. Chrzanowski Distinguished Teaching Professorship

Joanna B. Chrzanowski, PhD

Professor of English
Distinguished Teaching Professorship

Joel F. LaLone Distinguished Service Professorship

Joel F. LaLone

Professor of Mathematics
Distinguished Service Professorship

Raymond E. Petersen Distinguished Service Professorship

Raymond E. Petersen, PhD

Professor of Political Science
Distinguished Service Professorship

John F. Penrose Distinguished Service Professorship

John F. Penrose

Professor of Chemistry
Distinguished Service Professorship

Excellence in Teaching

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes consistently superior teaching at the graduate, undergraduate, or professional level in keeping with the State University’s commitment to providing its students with instruction to the highest quality. The primary criterion is skill in teaching. Additionally, consideration is also given to sound scholarship (usually demonstrated through publication or artistic productions), outstanding service to students, as well as service to the State University and to the campus.

John W. Deans, 1973
Mark W. Fenlon, 1974
Patricia B. Barbalich, 1975
Robert A. King, 1976
David J. Walton, 1977
Richard F. Young, 1978
Harold K. Shannon, 1985
Keith T. Yandoh, 1988
Betty G. Andrews, 1989
Charles M. LaPierre, 1990
Joel F. LaLone, 1991
Katherine E. Fenlon, 1992
Peter N. Gaskin, 1993
James K. Baker, 1994
John F. Penrose, 1995
Carolyn C. Clarke, 1996
Beverly A. Clark, 1997
Rosemary C. Deusser-Jensen, 1998
Linda S. Dening, 1999
Mary Lou Bertrand, 2000
Jerilyn E. Prentice, 2001
Jerry B. Wichelns, 2002
Edwin G. Thompson, 2003
Joanna B. Chrzanowski, 2004
Pamela F. Smith, 2005
Cheryl R. Ditch, 2006
Genn E. Pond, 2008
DeEtte M. Marshall, 2009
Michael K. White, 2010
Paul A. Alteri, 2011
Donna M. Stevenson, 2012
Patricia K. Jaacks, 2013
Heather N. O'Brien, 2014
Jack N. Donato, 2015
Stacy E. Pratt, 2016
Todd C. Vincent, 2017
Mark D. Irwin, 2018
Monica G. LeClerc, 2019
Venkat Chebolu, 2020
Chris Ebey, 2021
Irene S. Wilder, 2022
Lucinda D. Barbour, 2023
Andrew N. Draper, 2024

Excellence in Professional Service

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service recognizes consistently superior professional achievement within and beyond the position. Nominees for the award must be individuals who have repeatedly sought improvement of themselves, their campuses and ultimately the State University and, in doing so, have transcend the normal definitions of excellence shall be those individuals who can serve as professional role models for a University system in the pursuit of excellence.

Rosanne N. Weir, 1989
Richard L. Halpin, 1990
Rebecca R. Small Kellog, 1991
William J. Doe, 1992
Charles A. Brox, 1993
Roberta L. Lockwood, 1994
Robert J. Bookser, 1995
Marie A. Hess, 1996
Robert L. Watts, 1997
Karen A. Carr, 1998
Monica J. Papagni, 1999
Donna M. Eisele, 2000
Michele P. Gefell, 2001
Steven H. Brown, 2002
Betsy J. Penrose, 2003
Deborha L. O’Connor, 2004
Patricia K. Clark, 2005
Barry P. Jennison, 2006
Matt R. Lambert, 2008
Mary M. Kinne, 2009
Donald J. Horton, 2010
Linda C. Dittrich, 2011
Natalie A. Spooner, 2012
Michael J. Burns, 2013
Donald R. Johnson, 2014
Robyn N. Rhyner, 2015
Thomas N. Moran, 2016
Allen J. Speno, 2017
James P.R. Ambrose, 2018
Kerry A. Young, 2019
Bruce F. Alexander, 2020
Gabrielle M. Thompson, 2021
Jerilyn E. Fairman, 2022
Deanna L. Lothrop, 2023
Dean R. Dyer, 2024

Excellence in Librarianship

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Librarianship recognizes consistently superior professional achievement in the field of librarianship. Nominees for the award must have demonstrated extraordinary performance in the following areas: Skill in Librarianship, Service to the University and to the Profession, and Scholarship and Continuing Professional Growth.

Ellen G. Childs, 1992
Shirley A. Ellsworth, 1995
Inger M. Curth, 2001
Jackie A. Young, 2002
Constance A. Holberg, 2006
John J. Thomas, 2008
Carleen S. Huxley, 2016

Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities supports the pursuits foundational to sustaining the intellectual growth of SUNY institutions by recognizing consistently outstanding scholarly and creative productivity, conducted in addition to teaching, by SUNY’s instructional faculty.

Lisa M. Scrivani-Tidd, 2002
Frank P. Florence, 2003
Joel F. LaLone, 2010
Mark D. Irwin, 2012
Christine M. Grimes Topping, 2017
CJ Southworth, 2018

Excellence in Faculty Service

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service recognizes the consistently superior service contributions of teaching faculty. The service must be sustained over multiple years and may occur in a variety of venues including service to the campus, the State University, the local community or contributions at the regional, state-wide, national or international level.

Richard F. Young, 2006
Cindy A. Shelmidine, 2008
Ron R. Palmer, 2009
Lynn M. Sprott, 2011
Josh A. Dickinson, 2012
Mark C. Streiff, 2013
John F. Penrose, 2014
Timothy F. Grosse, 2015
Deborah A. Steinberg, 2016
Gwendolyn Francis-Frey, 2017
Kimberly G. Sell, 2018
Larry G. Covell, 2019
Dawn M. Robinson, 2020
Christine D. Pristash, 2021
Heather N. O'Brien, 2022
Lawrence M. Danforth, 2023
Michael B. Avery, 2024

Excellence in Classified Service

The Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Classified Service recognizes superior performance and extraordinary achievement by employees in the Classified Service. Chancellor’s Award recipients have demonstrated outstanding achievement, skill and commitment to excellence in fulfilling their position and have consistently provided exemplary customer service to students, staff and members of the campus community.

Courtney A. Bauer, 2009
Tina A. Berkey, 2010
Suzanne W. Wadhams, 2011
Brenda J. Hatch, 2012
Mark D. Strader, 2013
Rachael Riordan, 2014
William L. McMahon, 2015
Sharon Zaffarano, 2016
Eleanor J. Minnick, 2017
Suzanne M. VanEpps, 2018
Kimberly S. Stearns, 2019
Susan M. Hughes, 2020
Gail A. Patrick, 2021
Jessica L. Jones, 2022
Beverly M. Norton, 2024

Excellence in Adjunct Teaching

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching recognizes consistently superior teaching at the graduate, undergraduate, or professional level in keeping with the State University’s commitment to providing its students with instruction of the highest quality. The primary criterion is skill in teaching. Additionally consideration is also given for outstanding support for the intellectual growth of individual students; demonstrated use of relevant contemporary data from their discipline(s) in their teaching; and mastery of teaching techniques.

Timothy J. Abel, 2014
Barbara D. Romano, 2016
Lori A. Tuttle, 2017
Sister Juliana Raymond , 2018
Sue A. Gamet, 2019
Ilka Luyt, 2020
Marc M. Davis, 2021
Jessica L. Jones, 2022
Steven J. Kellogg, 2023
Kelly Rusho-Boyer, 2024